## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

August 22, 2023

The Honorable Michael S. Regan Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20460

Dear Administrator Regan,

As Members of Congress who are committed to equality for all, we write to encourage you to bargain in good faith with the American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) regarding the terms of its collective bargaining agreement, specifically the diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility (DEIA) article.

As you know, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has committed to making equity, environmental justice, and civil rights a centerpiece of the agency's mission. This mission is as timely and critical as ever while our country continues to respond to the ongoing climate crisis and endure repeated attacks against our LGBTQ+ community. Accordingly, for the EPA to perform its mission to the fullest, we believe the agency needs a highly trained, well-supported, diverse and inclusive workforce. Though negotiations between the parties will resolve many different concerns, we encourage each party to negotiate in good faith in reaching a consensus on benefits of employment, as well as training and support programs to foster a vibrant, energized EPA workforce that reflects the breadth and scope of the American people.

We support President Biden and Vice President Harris in their focus on equity not simply as a fixture of their administration, but the responsibility of the entire federal government, including EPA. Furthermore, as our country works determinedly to address historic climate goals and protect vulnerable communities, we need a strong, dedicated, and diverse EPA workforce to help us reach these objectives. Therefore, we strongly encourage both parties to come together in good faith and negotiate a mutually acceptable resolution that will benefit EPA, its workers, and the American people.

Sincerely,

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Paus Dellette

Mark Pocan

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Par

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Kinds J. Jan

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree

Chell R

Member of Congress

Brian Fitz

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Greg Casar

Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski

Manette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Julia Brownley
Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Berne Water Colema

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress Ilhan Ömar Member of Congress Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Val Hoyle

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis

Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D.