Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 26, 2022

The Honorable Michael S. Regan Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20460

Dear Administrator Regan:

We write to support EPA employees in reaching a final agreement during collective bargaining with the American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) Council 238. At a time when EPA is administering historic levels of funding, it is imperative that EPA's career employees are supported by the agency's political leadership. Improving the rights and protections of EPA employees is critical to recruit and retain the talented and diverse workforce needed to fulfill the agency's mission to address climate change, enhance environmental justice, and protect public health and the environment.

We know that you, as a former EPA employee, and this Administration take seriously the need to support career staff at EPA. We appreciate the work that has been done to rebuild and restaff the Agency and to protect scientists and experts, enabling them to better fulfill their duties.

We believe that AFGE's proposal to invest in EPA's workforce is a cost-effective solution that will help employees perform the mission of the agency. According to AFGE, these investments — such as restoring career ladders, supporting sound science, and increased diversity— come at a minimal cost. However, we have been told that the investments will pay out enormous dividends in attracting and retaining the best and the brightest to fill the ranks of EPA's highly educated, highly trained workforce.

We believe EPA employees should be paid a wage that is consistent with the level of work they complete. For example, according to several of our constituents who are currently EPA employees, they are stagnating at the GS-12 level, while completing the work of a GS-13. The practice of keeping employees at a GS-12, with pay and benefits of a GS-12, will only risk draining the EPA's workforce as employees seek better opportunities with room for growth in the private sector. In general, public sector employees should be fairly compensated for their work and provided with opportunities to advance their careers.

From our perspective, EPA will benefit from employing hiring practices that ensure a diverse and healthy workforce and work environment, including the use of blind hiring practices while conducting job searches. Using a blind hiring practice will prevent implicit bias from creeping into hiring decisions, while ensuring a workforce that is diverse in backgrounds and ideas.

Similarly for EPA's existing workforce, as the Biden Administration has pledged to support diversity, equity, and inclusion, we believe it is important EPA takes all measures necessary to ensure that any reported cases of discrimination are handled quickly, properly, and respectfully. In doing so, the EPA will create a more inclusive environment for its staff. We know advancing

diversity, equity, and inclusion is important to the Agency and that you have taken strides on this front, including through the creation of an Agency-wide action plan, mandatory training on unconscious bias in the hiring process for all supervisors, and providing recommendations to include diversity, equity, and inclusion considerations in senior leadership performance agreements. We hope EPA will build upon these efforts and work with EPA employees to go further.

In the past year, EPA has been given new and significant authorities and historic funding to address many of the nation's most pressing environmental and environmental justice challenges. We believe the successful implementation of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act and the Inflation Reduction Act will require a well-trained, diverse, dedicated, and robust EPA workforce.

We hope you will give AFGE's proposal full and fair consideration consistent with applicable law, rules, and regulations in order to enable EPA to recruit, retain, and protect the workforce needed now and into the future.

Sincerely,

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Paus Dollate

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Chair, Committee on Energy

and Commerce

Elizabeth Warren

United States Senator

Chellie Pingree

Chell R

Member of Congress

Bernard Sanders

United States Senator

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee
Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

oe Neguse Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress Alan S. Lowenthal
Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney
Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress



Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher

Member of Congress

Marie Newman Member of Congress A. Donal M'Eac L.

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Larament.

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Andy Kim

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress immy Panetta

Member of Congress

Ormy d. Peris

Member of Congress

John Yarmuth

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress



Mark Pocan Member of Congress



Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress Lason Crow Member of Congress Ilhan Omar Member of Congress C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Dean Phillips
Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Whn P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Conor Lamb Member of Congress