EPA Union Announces New Leadership after Landmark Contract Wins

On December 6, 2021, Marie Owens Powell was appointed to the role of President for AFGE Council 238 by acclamation. Owens Powell is currently the Local President of AFGE Local 3631, in Philadelphia, PA, which represents EPA workers across Region 3.

Owens Powell currently serves as Underground Storage Tank inspector in the Enforcement and Compliance Assurance Division and has been a union leader for more than 8 years. With her appointment, Owens Powell replaces Gary Morton, who served as AFGE Council 238 President for 3 years after being elected in 2018.

“As Council 238 President, I am proud to lead our union as EPA employees continue to fight to strengthen our workplace, ensure a stronger voice on the job, and protect the health and safety of our communities,” said Marie Owens Powell, President of AFGE Council 238. “I’m grateful to my colleagues for their trust and encouragement. Together, we are ensuring the future of work at the EPA prioritizes fairness and transparency and advances our mission to protect human health and safety and preserve the soul of the EPA.”

Upon being appointed President for AFGE Council 238, Owens Powell moved to appoint Joyce Howell as Executive Vice President to fill the vacancy left when EVP Natasha Greaves resigned. Howell also comes from EPA Region 3 where she has been an enforcement lawyer in the Office of Regional Counsel as well as the Vice President for AFGE Local 3631. Howell also served as the Lead Negotiator for AFGE Council 238 for the recently ratified Future of Work negotiations and will continue as Lead Negotiator for the Council for the Master Collective Bargaining Agreement.

“EPA workers have fought together to reach landmark agreements that invest in us, and together, we’ve won major policy changes to ensure our voices are heard,” said Joyce Howell, Executive Vice President and Lead Negotiator of AFGE Council 238. “We’re going to keep raising our voices to ensure that EPA employees are valued, respected, and protected at work.”

In addition to the appointments of Owens Powell and Howell, AFGE Local 1003 President Justin Chen was appointed Second Vice President. The full executive board includes:

President – Marie Owens Powell
Executive Vice President – Joyce Howell
First Vice President – Undine Kipka
Second Vice President – Justin Chen
Secretary – Kenneth Krebs
Treasurer – Jeanne Schultz
Sergeant at Arms – Ed Guster